jump to navigation

S6.19 Legendaddy April 11, 2011

Posted by nphfan in How I met your mother, Season 6.
Tags: ,
trackback

Sometimes I get a bit embarressed by part of the Barney Stinson character. When watching a series you come to get to know the characters. As the star of the show is Barney he gets to play out very different in different episodes. In this episode he is very childish and resenting his father. When he is insulting both the new wife and attacking the son I just felt it was a bit of the top, on the other hand I realised it was the child-Barney reacting for being rejected as a family for this family instead. When he in someway expresses. If you wanted to be a lame suburbian father, why couldn’t you be that with me. I fell in tears. I felt so sorry for Barney that somewhere realise he is emotionally crippled, which he must have come to understand after the Nora story, and now he blames this on the father.

And the father takes it in a good way and reaching out and gives Barney what he can do now. Help to use tools. Better late then never. There is so many perfect emotional moments. When Marchall tells him he still has chance to speak with his father.

When seeing a comedy I don’t want to have just one liners or punchlines. I want to be able to laugh with compassion, some understanding of the characters. And this episode really enriched Barney.I hope they can keep this up and not destroy it just to get some more laughs. The other story where everyone in the gang pointed out when they’ve made a fool of themselves was a perfect balance for the Barney and his dad’s sad relation.

Part of me is happy that there will be another 2 years if I read the NPH tweet correctly. Part of me is afraid what that will mean. Someone suggested the continuing story that I found very fitting.

The wedding is Barney and Nora, and the mother is Barneys sister that is in the college now. That would make sense. But can they continue this with Barney in a relationship?

Writer: Doug Mand & Dan Gregor
Director: Pamela Fryman

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment